The Rolling Meadows 1950s House Museum
The Rolling Meadows Historical Society opened its 1950s House and the Kimball Hill Family Education Center on July 4, 2002. The historic house was designed as a replica of the first ranch-style home constructed in the Rolling Meadows community by founder Kimball Hill in 1953. Visitors come to enjoy this “time machine” experience as they are transported back to the 1950s in this replica home. The 1950s House was the first house in the country to be constructed to interpret this era, and looks and feels like an authentic 1950s experience.
The museum buildings were constructed based on an original 1953 three-bedroom house design plan called the “Laurel”. Donations of various 1950s era furnishings and artifacts were combined to create authentic interior spaces within the home. Holding true to historical records was a primary goal in replicating one of the community’s original homes down to the details of the popular decor of the day.
NEWS AND EVENTS
Be sure to check back frequently about all the upcoming News and Events happening at the Museum.
Learn more >
Volunteers provide a critical role in the Museum’s operations, including greeting visitors, leading tours and working behind the scenes.
Learn More >
Learn more about the various ways that you can provide support to The Rolling Meadows 1950s House Museum.
Learn more >
Private tours are available, most days of the week, by calling the museum at 847-577-7086 or 847-254-8520 or email at email@example.com.
Please call at least one week in advance of desired tour date. Limit of 10 people per tour. No advance scheduling on Sundays needed.
VISIT / VOLUNTEER / SUPPORT
Visit us during regular museum hours, contact us to volunteer or to learn about supporting the museum.
3100 Central Road
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008
SUN: 1 pm – 4 pm
MON: By Appointment Only
TUE: By Appointment Only
WED: By Appointment Only
THU: By Appointment Only
FRI: By Appointment Only
SAT: By Appointment Only